Pitch Wars   Leave a comment

I haven’t posted a blog this week because I’ve been busy preparing an entry for #PitchWars.

If you’re not familiar with Pitch Wars (http://www.brenda-drake.com/) , it’s a competition run by Brenda Drake which allows writers to submit a query letter and the first five pages of a completed, unpublished manuscript to mentors.  If you attract a mentor, they will work closely with you for five weeks to polish your manuscript for submission to agents.

This year there were 46 fabulous mentors but you could only submit pitches to 4 of them unless you were lucky enough, as I was, to win the right to a 5th mentor submission.  Since only 5 people were selected for the 5th mentor, I was definitely doing a happy dance when I found I was one of them.

The trick is to find the mentors most likely to be interested in your particular book.  Each of them provided a list of what they are looking for and, equally important, what they do not want to see.  Some are doing only young adult, some only new adult, adult, or middle grade.  Some signed up for multiple categories.

Now, after days of polishing my query letter plus five pages, perusing the mentor list, and tweeting with my fellow writers for assistance and support, my 5 pitches are sent.  The only thing I can do now is wait.  This is the hardest part for me since I’ve never been a patient person.

The submission window ends tonight at midnight.  The mentors won’t see any of the queries until then.  If I succeed in interesting one of them, I will probably need to send more material.  If I have done as I hope and written a query and start to my book sufficiently compelling to win the support of one of the mentors (keeping my fingers and toes tightly crossed), I will be spending a lot of time polishing my book through December and January so I won’t have time for much blogging.

In any case, the mentors will not finish their selections until 11 December (still hating the wait, like everyone else).  The successful writers will have their polished work reviewed by 17 agents (awesome ones by all reports).  In the past, contracts have often resulted from this contest, so wish me luck.  If I don’t win a mentor this time, I will still keep working on my manuscript and submitting it to agents – just not at such a furious pace.

 

I am a writer of fantasy, science fiction, and poetry. If you are interested in learning more about me or my work, check out my website at http://www.leomaretan.com.

Posted December 2, 2013 by Leoma Retan in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

