Who Do I Write My Stories For?   Leave a comment

Lately I have been thinking a lot about the question: “Who do I write for?”  The easy answer is to say I write for myself, but that would not be accurate.  I do write because I enjoy doing it but that has little to do with deciding what stories to write.

Most of my stories,  I write for anyone who has ever felt torn between two worlds – the one that society and their families expect them to be part of and the one they feel they are part of – but especially for girls who feel that way.  I remember that feeling vividly.

I was always a tomboy, preferring the company of my horses to that of most of my fellow students, as well as being a bit of a geek. At one time I did try to “fit in”, to be the person I was expected to be, but I couldn’t sustain the fiction. The end result was that I did some things that are expected of young girls – I was in choir and German club – but more that were not expected.  Apart from my horses, I was part of a search and rescue team and I studied math, science, and engineering.  I learned to live with not being remotely popular.  I was luckier than many others in that my parents supported my choices.  A great many children and teens don’t even have that much help.

So I write for all the people that feel or have felt like me – not quite fitting in anywhere despite wishing they could do so. As a result, I tend to write characters, both male and female, that have the same sort of struggle between being one thing and another either because of who they are or because of things that happened to them.

Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. said: “I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin, but by the content of their character.”

I’d like to take that dream further.  I dream of a world where each person is judged entirely by his or her own character and talents –  not by race, not by gender, and not by physical attributes or abilities.  That world doesn’t exist even in my stories.  I let my characters be my voice on the subject.

 

I am a writer of fantasy, science fiction, and poetry.  If you are interested in learning more about me or my work, check out my website at http://www.leomaretan.com.

Posted August 20, 2013 by Leoma Retan in Writing

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

